21
Nov
12

A study in gratitude

It has become my tradition to take a moment before the Thanksgiving chaos to give thanks.

I am, as always, far behind so I will keep it brief this year.

I am thankful for the people who keep us going.  Several months ago I was catching up on thank you notes and was struck by how many people were repeat customer.  I was humbled by the number of people who came in each exhibit and found something fabulous to add to their personal collection.  I am even more awed by how many people stop and thank me.  I received the sweetest note from clients who are always present, always complementary, and always finding ways to support the gallery.  They thanked me (us – PS:Gallery) for bringing them great art that they could take home and treasure.

I am thankful to have a great staff whom I trust fully.  I recently left on a much needed vacation.  For six full days, I did not read email, I did not receive texts, and I did not answer my phone.  I know many small business owner for whom this would be impossible.  I have such a competent staff that I could disconnect and know that whatever came up, they could handle it.  I could not do this without them.

I am thankful to all the people in this community that help hold the arts together and make them grow.  I won’t name names but you know who you are.  There is an amazing amount of time and energy that goes into the arts and it wouldn’t be what it is without you!

I am most thankful for my family.  I am not ashamed to say that I am in LOVE with the new manager for the Office of Cultural Affairs for the City of Columbia.  Chris started his new job after Thanksgiving last year and is doing a great job in leading the city in all things arty.  I am thankful for Charlie who now can actually help at the gallery.  She is fully capable of opening the gallery and is more than willing to jump in and show jewelry when I’m busy.  It makes me happy that she and her friends want to come help at the openings.  They dress in their best and spend the evening helping put out food and pick up trash.

Happy Thanksgiving!


2 Responses to “A study in gratitude”


  1. December 30, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    I’d like to find out more? I’d want to find out
    some additional information.

  2. June 29, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea


Leave a comment