12
Jun
12

Biblio-file

This book review completely piqued my interest, so I thought I’d share with all you like-minded artists, curators, and/or appreciators.  Apparently going-on 20 years from it’s initial date of publication (who knew?!), Art and Fear portrays what seems to be a deeply existential conversation between friends and artists, David Bayles and Ted Orland on creative endurance, or more specifically, a lack thereof.   According to Patrick Neal’s review, the authors’ writing tackles both larger, logistical implications of being and staying an artist, as well as those more internal implications of personal perseverance.  As anyone involved in the arts (even in the broadest sense) knows, this is not only an avoidable subject due to its wet-blanket convo-killer gravitas, but one easily skimmed over completely in the sometimes shallow commercial art climate.  I’m adding it to my reading list, and am inclined to think you might want to as well.

-Joel

2 Responses to “Biblio-file”


  1. 1 Odd Omission
    June 16, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    I kinda do what to read this. Oh my goodness I am never going to finish my “books to read” list!

  2. May 6, 2013 at 1:39 am

    Your style is very unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve
    got the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this page.


Leave a Reply

