26
May
11

New Season, New Faces, New Jewelry

As we approach Memorial Day weekend and the unofficial start of summer, spectacular storms, unfurling peonies, and calendars full of graduation parties remind us that change is in the air.  This is also true at PS:Gallery, where we are enjoying the afterglow of the opening of our late spring exhibition—thank you to everyone who made it a success!  I had the pleasure of meeting some of our friends there, and would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself to the rest of you.

My name is Shea Boresi (Shea Boresi Rubin after my wedding this Saturday), and I am excited to be the new Associate Curator at PS.  Some of you may know me from Ragtag Cinema, where I have worked for several years.  I will be a frequent contributor to the PS:blog, and, starting in July, I will be a fixture during gallery hours.  I hope you will visit the art and say hello.

Until then, our late spring exhibit is a wonderful study in contrasts, for those of you who have not seen it in person.  In particular, Chris Teeter’s all white, dream-like sculptures created from found elements, and Jenny McGee’s mixed media pieces are best appreciated face-to-face.  McGee’s pieces are composed on salvaged windows and doors, whose weathered textures are integral to their appeal. 

Her muted colors play nicely with curator Joel Sager’s new series of hazy tree-scapes, and with the landscapes and still lives of local artist Steven Rust.  These all stand in contrast to the bold, kinetic canvases from Clint Metcalf and the newest additions to the space, from MU faculty member Lampo Leong:  mixed media paintings whose variegated colors are reminiscent of either deep space or inner Earth.  (Come see Leong’s work before we have to part with it on June 11!)

Also, dear to my own heart, we have new jewelry.  Oh yes.  In addition to the new floral pieces by the popular Jenny Walker, we have significantly beefed up our offerings from Atelier des Chichis.  I like the rough-cut, vibrant stones so much that I took a picture.   

Given the current exhibit, I can’t wait to see what new eye candy awaits when I return from my honeymoon at the beginning of July.  I will see you art lovers at the next opening!

0 Responses to “New Season, New Faces, New Jewelry”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

