08
Jun
10

“Work of Art”

I must say that I have been anxiously awaiting the premier of the new reality show “Work of  Art“.  I am not a reality show junkie.  I have seen one episode of “project runway” and little of other reality shows (unless they have to do with cooking, that’s another story entirely).  However, I am excited about this new show for a variety of reasons.

One reason is that I am always curious to see what “experts” think about pieces of art in contrast to what I think about pieces.  This is also one of the reasons I love to go see museums and galleries with other people.  I find it fascinating to hear what others think and why.  I also feel it is a great opportunity to learn when you can see why someone finds something appealing or revolting.

Another reason I am excited about “Work of Art” is simply that it brings attention to art.  I often feel that art is ignored, and under appreciated in our current culture.  I think we have slightly alienated the “every man” from art.  I am hopeful that television will bring art back in front of  the public.  I hope that accessibility of the media will help make art less intimidating.  Don’t get me wrong, I certainly would rather people see actual art as opposed to watching it on TV.  However, it this show makes people feel more comfortable “seeing” art in the real world, then bring it on.

Lastly, I am curious to see how the artists handle being told what to do.  Artists in general are creatively driven.  Most do not respond well to strict parameters or unbending guides.  I am curious to see how successful the artists are at mainting their voice when painting outside of their typical style.

“Work of Art” airs Wednesday June 9 11/10c on Bravo.

0 Responses to ““Work of Art””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

